Dorrit’s Prince Charming

12 04 2013

carrie-diaries-featured

The first season of The Carrie Diarie’s saw Dorrit make a transition from the rebellious little sister into a mature teenager with feelings, desires, and a love interest of her own.

Ultimately, the joke’s on Carrie when the season ends and Carrie is left single and still a virgin and Dorrit actually loses her virgin and gets herself a boyfriend of her own. Dorrit’s entire demeanor as well as her style takes a drastic change after she meets Miller, the character her steals her heart. She ditches the black eye-liner and trades it in for books about sex, girly clothes, and more subtle feminine make-up.

The decision of the writer’s to have Dorrit be the one to lose her virginity over Carrie was surprisingly actually part of the plan all along.  In an interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Amy B. Harris reveals her reasons for having Dorrit be the one to lose it first:

“THR: Who would have thought that it would be the younger Bradshaw, Dorrit (Stefania Owen), losing her virginity by the of the season.

Harris: I know! That was something I knew [would happen] from the very beginning. I always knew when I pitched the first season: Carrie will end the first season a virgin and Dorrit will not. [Laughs] Right after we shot the pilot, I knew. Even before we shot the pilot, I knew Carrie would be a virgin. I don’t think I thought as hard about where Dorrit would be until after we shot the pilot. We didn’t know who or how exactly she would lose it but I loved that the more f—ed up sister at the end of the day is actually a lot less dysfunctional about relationships. I loved her simplicity: “He loves me, I love him.” And she didn’t overthink it. That’s who Dorrit is. [Carrie and Dorrit] are chasing life in very different ways and it felt like a logical conclusion, that Carrie would overthink herself right out of a relationship and Dorrit has enough self-esteem to want it to be with someone who cared about her. She went for it. “


Actions

Information

3 responses

15 04 2013
Daniel Sullivan

I’m not familiar with The Carrie Diaries, but I found the interview with the writer interesting. Before this class, I was always curious if show writers had everything in the season planned out before they started airing the episodes or if they made up each episode as they went. Now I realize that the writers must have a general overview of the entire season before they start airing episodes.

16 04 2013
fitchett2012

I’ve never seen the show before, but I like the concept of surprising viewers with the younger character being the one who actually ends up losing her virginity. Also, Idk how much the entire show, as opposed to just this season, has to do with Carrie losing her virginity, but if its an important reoccurring concern then where would the show be with it solved!?

16 04 2013
dktrottier

Interesting interview. With down-to-earth characters like these, I can’t help but wonder how much of the show is based on the personal experience of the writer (or maybe the writer’s friends).

Leave a comment




Delicate But Potent

creative conscious, manifested monetarily

Call It What You Want

missmoran's blog

rmderose

Autism: Save the few...Save us all

CLEARLY G.O.T.

Unlike Ned Stark I understand how this blog is written

Two and a Half Men

Who will Defend?

Workaholics

Take it sleazy

All Adventurous Women

A 'Girls' Blog by Maggie Taylor

MyTVBlog: The Carrie Diaries

My personal blog on the CW's new show The Carrie Diaries!

tv, pictures, and stuff...

this is my required blog that i just might love

Firefly

A retrospective analysis of Joss Whedon's sci-fi epic

Come Along, Whovians

"All of time and space; everywhere and anywhere; every star that ever was. Where do you want to start?" - The Doctor

REPUBLIC CITY EVENING POST

A Legend of Korra Blog

Mad Men

An insight into the minds of the mad

Dan Sullivan

Covering the Arts

Modern Family

All you need to know about the best sitcom on TV

Study Group in Session!

A critical look at the hit TV show Community

Parks and Recreation

A creative study of the best comedy on television.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.